top of page
  • Writer's picturevierouculkawhatfig

Jam Origin Midi Guitar 2 26: How to Load and Play Any Synth or Effect with Your Guitar



I have been playing the guitar for about fifty years; I started with Shadow GTM-6 around 1986, that was a slap in my face even if it was rudimentary , then I continued with more and more effective systems .




Jam Origin Midi Guitar 2 26




I have been toying with getting some synth sounds out of my rig. I have a Fishman Triple Play (FTP) unit and have the trial version of the Midi Guitar 2 with jam origin. My big problem is getting the routing straightened out with the helix as my main sound source. Let me explain this in a bit more detail


My main idea is to have my core guitar patch coming out of the helix as being the dominant sound but occasionally use synth sounds for certain parts of the song (e.g. the synth part in Rebel Yell by Billy Idol). I had a look at several youtube videos. For example, this video here demonstrates pretty much what I would like to achieve with this set up


Problem: My big problem is that I'm unable to separate the synth and the guitar. I would like to be able to separate the two sounds and also maybe even integrate them using an expression pedal. In the video above, it looks like Mark activates the synth sound by using a foot switch. However, my midi programming skills are virtually non existent, so any direction on how that can be programmed in would be great.


Problem: I pretty much did exactly as shown in the video where I create two parallel paths with the Y split assigned to an expression pedal. However, again I'm unable to separate the signals between the guitar and the synth sounds. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong here either.


Of course! It being the Helix, there are several. You could insert a volume block on each path. Leave the guitar path set to it's default. Then on the Synth path, edit the parameters for the volume pedal and set the minimum to 127 and the max to 0. Now when you move the pedal to toe down, you'll hear guitar, at heel down you'll hear synth and a blend of the two in between. Play with the response curve to see if you like the pedal throw better.


Similarly, you could insert a gain block on each path. Set the gain on both channels to 0. Assign both blocks to the same footswitch. Click the footswitch to make sure it is toggling both gain blocks on and off. Once that is working, just manually toggle ONE of the gain blocks to the opposite status (on or off). Now, with one gain block off and one gain block on, when you press the footswitch it will toggle between guitar and synth.


Have you made more progress? I'm the guy that did the FTP video above and I've recently started using MG2 on iOS. I really think it offers better tracking than my FTP and no need for a pickup. With the Helix routing, it works very well. I have the MG2 input set to USB7, which is the reamp channel on Helix so it takes the raw input guitar signal and no extra path is needed. I then have a separate path for synth coming back into Helix on USB3. Its great being able to just use a USB cable and Apple CCK. If you're interested I can post a picture of the Helix path.


Longtime guitar synth user (purchased GR700/G707 new when it was a current product, and have owned a current guitar synth unit ever since) who is considering upgrading his Axon AX100mkII to Triple Play.


I toyed around with this for a while....it does work although a bit glitchy at times...the way I have it set up is to connect the USB from the Helix into the IPAD through the camera connecter kit...then I use audiobus to route the signals from mg2 into sample tank/other synths and then back into the helix through USB...I then bring it back into the signal chain through the usb input and blend it with guitar and other effects...it does work but I'm yet to use it live as it does glitch out once in a while....would be great to take a look at your helix path...


I'm absolutely in no doubt that Jam Origin would be easier and cheaper. Problem I have is I can't stop stretching the boundaries of the possible. I've been thinking about the new wired USB version that's due out soon/already out but I've missed it (delete as appropriate). The mod Matt Bellamy's guitar tech made with one looks sooo good!


The FTP did track better at home for me...the difficulty live was it was kind of restrictive to the guitar that had the FTP pickup installed....since MG2 works with any guitar, it was easier...plus the cabling is a lot easier as I do not have to worry about the dongle and a usb hub to ensure both the FTP and the Helix is connected to the iPad...overall MG2 is probably not as good in terms of tracking but was practical especially since I needed it only for a few songs...


The MIDI inside MIDI Guitar /Bass for windows & macos is scriptable via our MIDI Machine scripts.MIDI Machines can do things like transpose, arpeggiate, block notes, create extranotes, harmonise and can also listen to your midi footcontroller.


"The Jamstik Studio MIDI Guitar is really more like two guitars in one. It's a 24-fret electric guitar, but also powered by Jamstik's signal processing technology & super secret proprietary algorithms."


While details on this project are admittedly a little fleeting, the videos linked below are well worth a watch for the interesting sounds this guitar is able to produce. Perhaps paired with a classic-sounding guitar amplifier it could produce other impressive walls of sound as well. Either way, we could expect someone like [Brian Wilson] to be interested in one once it is in production.


Yes, it is possible with pitch-shifters, "octavers" and synthesizers. Which product is suitable depends on several things. (1) do you need to do this live or could you record on an audio track and then do the transformation off-line? (2) Do you need it to be polyphonic or would a mono synth be ok? (3) Do you need it to transpose down only i.e. for bass, or up as well? (4) Do you need tranposing by any amount, or just octaves? (5) Do you need it to output MIDI data for synthesizers? (6) Can you or do you want to install a special pickup on your guitar? (7) Do you need this on stage in a robust package? (8) How much money can you spend?


Particularly the BASS9 pedal works relatively well for playing a bass line with a guitar. All of them have a little bit of latency, and almost any real bass works better than even the most fantastic guitar effect option in the world.


If you don't need to do this live, i.e. if you can record the guitar on an audio track, and then transform the notes "offline", then you have all sorts of audio-to-MIDI converter software and Melodyne at your disposal.


Gabriel has studied and performed music from North and South India, Iran, the Balkans, Turkey and Central Asia, as well as western classical music and avant-garde jazz. As one of the few players to explore the fretless guitar and MIDI guitar, he has found a truly unique and expressive voice. In addition to this his exploration and layering of a vast array of effects contributes to his distinct sound. He is a founding member of internationally renowned fusion band Consider the Source. In addition to Guitar, Gabriel is versed in Dutar, Dombra, Tanbour, Balta Saz, and Kamancha. 2ff7e9595c


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Baixe o Elite MOD APK (Jogo de Tiro em Primeira Pessoa) 1.0

O que é um mod de elite e por que você deve experimentá-lo Se você é fã de videogames, já deve ter ouvido falar do termo "mod" ou "modificação". Um mod é uma alteração ou adição feita por um fã a um j

Download tu 46

Baixar TU-46: Um Jogo de Simulador de Avião Divertido e Desafiador Você adora pilotar aviões e entregar passageiros em diferentes países? Você quer experimentar a emoção e o desafio de pilotar uma aer

bottom of page